A Moment

By: Jennifer Lavender

Mar 25 2010

Category: Uncategorized

7 Comments

Aperture:f/7
Focal Length:5mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/335 sec
Camera:COOLPIX L100

There is one moment in every year that lets me know spring has definitely arrived. It’s the moment that I hear one of my girls yell, “Mom! Look! It’s a popcorn tree!”

It used to be me who would point out the popcorn tree each year, usually to exasperated sighs from Malia that those were flowers on those trees, and not popcorn. Apparently she has decided it is more fun to just play along because this year Malia was the first to spot the popcorn tree. We were out for a walk and she had to stop and play because of the popcorn tree. I’d be lying if I said that seeing her excited about something so simple wasn’t the highlight of my week.

Where did our tradition of hunting for popcorn trees start? The answer is simple: with a song. From the Children’s Songbook we use at church is a fun little song called Popcorn Popping.

I looked out the window, and what did I see?

Popcorn popping on the apricot tree!

Spring has brought me such a nice surprise,

Blossoms popping right before my eyes.

I could take an armful and make a treat,

A popcorn ball that would smell so sweet.

It wasn’t really so, but it seemed to be

Popcorn popping on the apricot tree.

This is one of the favorite songs at church, especially among the youngest kids. It gets sung year round and we sing it a lot in our house too. Click the link above to listen to it and I’ll bet you’ll agree that it’s a fun and catchy tune. That’s part of why finding the popcorn tree every year is the moment that let’s me know it really is spring.

I’m pleased to list this post on You Capture at I Should be Folding Laundry.

This blog is just for my favorite pictures. Visit The Princess Momma Chronicles to find out more about me.

7 comments on “A Moment”

  1. My grandma and I would always say the trees were getting ready for a wedding. The little white ones were flower girls, the purple ones were bridesmaids, and the big white ones were the brides 🙂

  2. Beautiful photo! So far we don’t have any signs of spring like that around here…I can’t wait for the trees to flower!

  3. i love popcorn trees, too… reminds me of a place i loved so! we used to call them snowball trees..

    i never heard that song before, but it is so sweet. and i love those mountains in the background… covered in snow. {!!} you must be in colorado? montana? california? … sigh…

    • We’re in Southern Utah. I love it here. It’s definitely desert country, lots of rocks and dirt, but we get to see snow covered mountains and pretty green grass and lots of other stuff too.

  4. […] Popcorn Trees and Feet March 29, 2010 by smithfamilysiren Maddy has been looking for them everywhere! Every time we pass one she yells “Popcorn tree sing a song!” If you have no idea what I’m talking about read my sisters blog because she explained it quite well and I’m feeling too lazy to type it out. https://pmpics.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/a-moment/ […]


Comments are closed.